A person's success nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are various reasons to consider when making a judgement about the success of a person. People often consider someone successful if they have a high social status and material wealth, rather than looking for the moral values of each individual. I completely disagree with this idea because a successful individual should come from good manners, and social prestige and private ownership are external factors. Firstly, moral values are essential to evaluate people, as when they become successful, they become a role model for others. Most of them appear in the media or society, as they are invited to deliver a speech to their supporters. People prefer to listen to people who have good character, even if they come from a high position. Their delivery of information can influence others’ lives, as others may want to be like them in the future. However, if they only have a status, but lack good personality, it can affect their audiences’ view. Therefore, people may no longer support them. Another downside is that social position and valuable possessions are not the only way to acknowledge someone's success or lack thereof. People with good moral values still have a chance to succeed, and their private possessions may be enhanced later in life. Sometimes they come from a poor, low-status family and go through many challenging things in life to achieve their goals, which is a valuable part that people respect because of their commitments. Whenever they reach their aims, their wealth and social position may come after. For instance, successful people who raise funds for many charities as much as they can without being selfish might gain popularity rather than keeping them for themselves. In conclusion, I believe that when evaluating a person's success, it is impossible to replace outdated worth and look for only social status and possessions because moral values are essential when someone becomes a good example for others and relying only on ranking society and possessions is not a good way to judge someone.