Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some sectors of society believe that parents should be responsible for organising the free time of their children. However, other groups support the idea that this time should be organized by kids. In my opinion, I consider that parents should be involved in the free time of their own children but without interfering in their decisions and interests. In this essay, I will discuss both ideas in order to give my own opinion. To begin with, parents are responsible for their children and must respond to them, which means that they ought to organise some activities during their free time. One example of this is enrolling the little ones on any kind of sports or activities like dancing or painting, in which adults need to pay a quote and arrange the time frame to take them to those places and then pick them up. In these cases, it is clear that parenting needs to be involved in these routines and they are the ones who need to make sure that all this actually happens. On the other hand, something that occurs very often is that dads or mums want their kids to do the same they wanted to do when they were younger, projecting their interests or unfinished dreams onto them. That is why a great sector of society thinks that children are in the right to choose whatever they want to do in their free time. For instance, surveys demonstrated on very young girls that they were happier when they were able to select the activities they wanted to perform during their recreation time. If the youngest are free to decide in which activity they want to spend their time, we will be guaranteeing their autonomy. In conclusion, we cannot deny that both views have a point, but combining both is how I think it should be. Parents must understand that their children are not themselves, they are totally different people, who are in constant exploration of their interests and abilities. Parents have the responsibility to listen to them and collaborate in their process showing them numerous possibilities and things to do, but without forgetting that they are the ones who take the decisions of how they want to spend their free time.