In many parts of the world today, there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Nowadays, the cosmetic industry has been beneficial market. Many people, all around the world, desire to lighten their skin. Media and old-fashioned beliefs are the main reasons for the popularity of those cosmetics. This trend has detrimental impacts on one’s skin health and society's economy. Many reasons encourage people to wear whitening skin products. Firstly, the media determined the beauty standard and persuaded individuals to use this type of skin care. As a case in point, advertisements on television and the Internet aim to lighten skin color. They compel people to follow a western-like trend in which fair complexation is better than brown skin. I have seen an eye-catching advertisement on the Internet that noted that if you want to be the center of attention, you can lighten your skin color with our production. Second, previous generations' mindset about skin color led to the popularity of having fair skin. To clarify, incorrect beliefs passed down from our ancestors about the priority of white-skinned dwellers. In the past, high status citizens stayed inside, and their skin was whiter compared with laborers and farmers who worked out. As a result of their high-status work force, they were prone to the sun, and their skin got burnned ans tenacious. These days, this misjudgement causes popularity of whitening skin productions. People's health and society's economy have been threatened by the privileging of wearing lightening skin cosmetics. Since most of those products contain toxins and harmful substances, their consumers are more likely to face skin cancer. For instance, my cousin was diagnosed with skin cancer after using whitening cream on a regular basis. Her doctor believed that her skin's melatonin was completely ruined by lightening cosmetics. The tendency to use these forms of skin production brings out a lack of budgets in many communities. Due to the fact that a large amount of society's revenue should be devoted to doing research on this type of cosmetic, most societies face economic issues. Manufactured skin production contains a wide variety of animal and human examinations. Therefore, their research is expensive. In conclusion, whitening skin becomes popular because of manipulating advertisements in the media and discriminatory skin color beliefs. This popularity threatens one’s skin health as well as puts a hefty pressure on the community's economy by providing budgets to meet expensive research.