In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

In light of the growing popularity of the Internet, it is true that people nowadays have the ability to take various actions such as online shopping, remote working, and phone calls to each other at any given time. The essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that this is an encouraging development. On the one hand, the proliferation of the Internet could give rise to a host of serious consequences. The foremost problem is that mobile phones are one of the many primary culprits behind the loss of actual connection between people. In fact, people often spend most of their time on virtual social networks such as Facebook and Instagram instead of direct meeting and chatting with others. Moreover, there are various e-commerce platforms with a number of attractive promotions that makes netizens are difficult to leave online application instead of going to shopping centres which can distract people from the daily routine they intend to accomplish, leading to a deterioration in movement productivity. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the online trend will become an integral part of the future community. Firstly, people can easily communicate with others without distance. For example, students can make foreign friends through Skype and Viber and so on to chat or video call. Secondly, remote working helps the public save hours and money for other things such as leisure trips or daily commutes. For example, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, everyone can work from home via support from laptops or computers which are connected to their company by the Internet. In conclusion, although it is irrefutable that the trend in which communities use the Internet in modern life could give rise to the number of adverse implications, I do believe that the upside of this phenomenon is more noteworthy than its downside.