Some governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this food. What do you think about this?

As consumption of fat, sugar and salt increases, rates of related illnesses such as diabetes, heart disease and stroke are also on the rise. In order to tackle this problem, some argue that the government should levy a higher tariff on junk food. This essay will discuss why I feel that this would be beneficial and lead to more money for health services while discouraging the consumption of unhealthy food. The main reason why raising the junk food tax is a good idea is because that money could support public health. That is, simply, more tax means more funds for the government to invest in healthcare and education, services that are vital in the battle against obesity, and other illnesses caused by overconsumption of sugary and fatty food. Indeed, it has been the case with taxes on alcohol and tobacco products in the UK where tax from the sale of cigarettes is used to treat patients with smoking-related diseases such as lung cancer, as well as to fund advertising campaigns to deter smokers. Tax fast food could be used in the same way. In addition to this, on a practical level, this initiative would reduce the consumption of junk food. This is simply because increasing taxes would raise prices. If, for instance, a Bic Mac cost $10 rather than $3, few people will see this as an attractive option. Junk food will soon become a luxury item to be only consumed occasionally and therefore less harmful to the health of the general public. In conclusion, poor food choices are having a detrimental impact on public health. An increase in the tax on junk food is a good idea not only because of the good precedent set by alcohol and tobacco, but also the fact that it would reduce the amount of fast food that most people can afford.