In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the beginning of the current decade, many local stores have become non-operational because consumers today are more likely to visit supermarkets and shopping complexes to purchase the goods of their need and want. In my view, It is a positive trend because these megastores generally fulfil all the requirements for the public under the same roof. Moreover, this essay will dictate the pointers describing the merit sides of the statement. To begin with, supermarkets generally provide facilities to an individual which is impossible for a local shop owner to offer. To elaborate, the shopping marts have a lot of variety to offer which let consumers help pick up the available product which suits their requirement. Furthermore, it helps the buyers by saving their time to visit other stores to find the best-suited item to accomplish their needs. For instance, an offline marketplace named Costco has fifty different departments where one can purchase FMCG from different clothing brands, which makes it super convenient for a person to decide and purchase stuff accordingly. Secondly, due to bulk,purchases the shopping malls offer various schemes as well as huge discounts for their clients. Also, they have fun activities section for the kids, in case a couple would like to shop in peace while letting the mall authorities engage the kids in the playing section. To cite an example, the mall in India offers buy-one-get-one on unlimited products in different shops. Meanwhile, they have a section of fun games where children from 5-12 years can spend leisure time while their parents are away. To conclude, the increased development of shopping centres has decreased the value of the small stores. This trend has been adopted by human beings in a positive manner, and looking at the recent hike the requirement for these complexes is going to be rising in the future.