Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is more essential to teach children the literature and history of their own country rather than other countries. In my view, I agree that children should study and research the books and historical events of their own country. There are a number of reasons why children should study national literature and history. The first reason is children love to study about the place where they live, ideas, culture and history of their own country, they will begin to develop their awareness about national sovereignty, economic and social of the country, respect the culture, the law and the rights of citizens. At the same time, these activities also attract parents to participate in learning and sharing with their children and help their children with school work, and there is educational continuity across the generations. Vietnamese children, for example, read Tat den and learn about the Linebacker II campaign merely as their parents did, and there is educational continuity across the generations. Finally, learning national literature and history gives educators a narrower teaching scope and easier design or making curriculum. By contrast, studying the global past and novels could cause unnecessary difficulty and confusion for students. For example, there is no point in presenting American and Chinese history to a Vietnamese child who has not yet studied their own country ’s past. Surely, the child would be more able to comprehend historical events that took place in Hanoi than in New York or Beijing. Similarly, teaching international literature is likely to require the training of a foreign teacher or the use of translations. Students from primary or secondary schools are basically not ready for such complications. In conclusion, I think that it is hard for schools to cover aspects of foreign history or literature, they should teach national culture instead.