In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some ways. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, companies have had a tendency to promote the idea that their products are novel in one way or another. This essay will look at the primary cause of it and I believe this should be considered a positive development. By marketing the most innovative items to the public, brands can create a higher chance of beating their competitors. To be more specific, growing a business under fierce competition is not easy because manufacturers have to brainstorm ideas to find ways to increase their competitive advantages. With that being said, if companies don’t show the public that their products are the most updated ones, they cannot attract customers. To illustrate, Apple is the only mobile phone brand that introduces battery health checks to users. Specifically, when battery health goes below 80%, iOS prompts users to get their batteries replaced. While Android devices have to include a third-party app to give information about the battery life, Apple simply sends a message, making it more convenient for consumers to use and be more interested in the product. I believe that this development is positive because it offers new value to the consumers. For instance, people want to know more about their health and well-being these days. Noticing this trend, Amazon unveiled the health-tracking bracelet in 2020. The device could track users’ body fat as well as emotional states and provide digital assistance when necessary. Thanks to this technological advancement, the firm can equally compete with other businesses and boost its strength in the market to generate profits. In conclusion, emphasizing novelty through advertisement is effective for companies to thrive from the competition. This development also has a good impact because it can meet people’s demands.