Some people believe that capital punishment is unjustified. Others believe that capital punishments should be used for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People's opinions differ as to whether criminals receiving the death sentence is not justified or if it should be used just for a felony. Personally, I agree with the latter viewpoint. It is human nature to make mistakes, treating everyone with the same punishment is totally unfair and capital penalty can not be a solution to all problems. Crime is a chronic and complex issue and has to be taken with great care. Firstly, penalties should vary as per the severity of the case. For instance, rehabilitation is a possible way in which the Offender gets time to realise his mistake and correct it. Not all criminals are born criminals, conditions and the environment could have made them the culprit. To tackle this, psychological counselling would be beneficial. With professional help, offenders might start a normal life which will make a nation a better place to live. However, I side with those who feel that murderers, rapists etc. should not be forbidden at any cost and that capital punishment is the only solution. A prime reason is to deter the criminal mindest, who commit such crimes just to get fame and to create a fearful situation. For instance, a renowned Punjabi artist Sidhu Moosewala was killed mercilessly by a gangster just to become popular. The instant death penalty could help to deter such crimes and other penalties can only breed future criminals but can not help with this situation. The chances of recidivism are more in penalties for except the capital ones. To put a stop to this, strict punishment is highly required. In conclusion, while there are reasons to believe that serious punishments are not justified, my own view is that innocent people should not suffer and immediate capital punishment should be done.