Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Agriculture has an integral part in prosperity of socities. It is, therefore, not surprising to see how it has caused a controversy among people about whether countries should produce their food and minimize import. While some people firmly believe that not all countries have arable land, others adamantly object to it. I have several solid reasons to agree with supporters one of which is not having arable land while objectors emphasize that it’s a cost-effective solution. To begin with, the fervent supporters of this matter claim that not all countries have arable land. This is a very convincing argument since every country has a different climate, natural resources or soil type. To elucidate better, countries Russia or Qatar cannot develop farming because of extreme weather conditions. From a financial standpoint, it may be argued that while it is important to use the country’s budget wisely, it is also critical to provide a waide range of food with vitamins, minerals or fibre namely fruit rich in vitamin C like orange. Furthermore, it’s worth reiterating that those who are in favour of this matter underline the risk of natural disasters or extreme weather conditions such as drought and earthquake affecting the harvest. In short, they assert that not all countries have arable land,and as can be clearly seen they are able to present a strong rationale. In contrast, a common criticism of the opponents is that it is a cost-effective solution. Although their point of view has merits on the surface and therefore could be acceptable to an extent, even a cursory observation reveals the major flaws in this argument. If the food in general is produced locally, this may ostensibly lower the prices. However, decreasing the price of vegetables or fruit won’t be able to increase life standards or GDP. There will still be demand for other products. The most logical explanation as to why the objectors fail to come up with a strong argument is that it is jejune, albeit populist, which is of little avail to the discussion because there is direct correlation between cheaper agricultural products and cheaper man power. This can create a snowball effect. All things considered, it can be concluded that not all countries have the ideal conditions for producing their food and minimizing import. The most rational course of action would be to attempt to achieve a balance between the arguments of opponents and proponents