Some people believe that teenagers should be doing unpaid community service. This could benefit the teenagers and community. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this statement.

A large number of adolescents feel that the world does not understand them enough, partly due to the changes occurring in their body both physically and psychologically and this result in the increasing tendency for them to act out during this particular period. I completely disagree with the statement that teenagers should be required to do unpaid services in the community. First of all, I believe that the lack of remuneration for adolescents working for the community will not be of benefit to them because this will not help to boost their work morale. This is because there is nothing to improve their performance in the service that they are providing to the community and I believe that this can hinder their work performance in the future. For example an adolescent working in a community library during working hours and goes home tired and stressed but no stipend to encourage him or her will not be advantageous at all and this might even allow that teenager to have ill feelings towards the community. Secondly, I disagree that adolescents doing free community work will be of benefit to them and the community because an adolescent not being paid for his or her services in a particular place will feel left out and lonely. This is not good for the community as teenagers are going through series of emotional transitions and this feelings might lead to various mental problems, for example eating disorders, body image disorders, depression and even suicide. To conclude, I’ll state that teenagers are similar to every other adults in the working population and should be treated the same way in every aspect and thus should be remunerated for whichever service they render in their community.