Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life.

Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Teaching mathematics has become a debatable subject among parents these days. While some parents argue that mathematics is not necessary and should be removed from the curriculum but others maintain that it should be compulsory even if it is not required in the future. This essay will discuss both views in depth.I strongly believe learning math is vital because it improves students' intellect. A growing number of parents are of the view that learning mathematics in various academic institutions should not be encouraged since it does not benefit the child in any way. This is because the skill gained from this subject is now done seamlessly by electronic gadgets, such as simple calculators, mobile phones and computers.In spite of the fact that, having a good knowledge of mathematics is not a prerequisite for most jobs when children complete their studies. On the other hand,other parents argue that all children should be taught mathematics regardless of its use when they become adults. Teaching mathematics pupils to solve problems in trigonometry, matrices and many others stimulates the young minds to think outside their comfort zone. In conclusion, the role of mathematics in education today continues to be arguable. Although some parents believe it is not essential and should be omitted from school programs. I think it increases students' intelligence and helps us identify their strengths.