Formal examinations are the only way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the education system is playing one of the key roles in human life, so assessing the level of gained knowledge is considered the most debated topic. Many believe that only final exams are enough to identify students’ awareness and other assessments are not suitable for this. Even, though the formal examination is the best way to score one ’s knowledge additional tasks are also useful to clarify it for sure. On the one hand, it is true that official exams are the main factor to conclude a student’s knowledge but the additional factors to do this are tasks like projects and coursework. For example, providing final exams could sometimes be stressful and students are hardly able to show their abilities throw one exam and the result of the exam could be unsatisfactory or satisfactory instead of good or even perfect. So additional assessments like self-study projects and coursework can fulfil and help to make the overall conclusion. That is why the level of knowledge should be checked not only throw formal examination but also mid-performance should be taken into consideration. On the other hand, even if continual assessments are useful to maintain the overall result there are some drawbacks because what final exam is a vital factor to identify the level of the obtained material. For instance, many students try to find an easy way and they do additional tasks according to one or two topics and never repeat it again in the duration of the term the information in that topics could be forgotten. In other,words getting their marks during the academic year and hardly assessing in the final exam could make the examination system less effective. All in all formal exams are the only way to assess the whole year's progress. In conclusion, midterm tasks are very useful to know understanding the topic among students but the key point of checking and assessing the knowledge should be formal examination.