Study shows that many criminals have low levels of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so that they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Most cyber users got furious when they saw people who committed severe crimes and got released from jail because they could not trust those prisoners would make any contribution to society. Some socialists claim that prisons should be transformed into re-educational institutions instead of isolating mobs from the community. I totally agree with this idea and I would elaborate more on the reasons in the following essay. To begin with, the majority of criminals live in low financial status. In order to earn enough money for survival, the poor are more likely to take the risk to violate the law. Education has long been the solution to poverty. Thereby, delivering professional lessons can not only help them obtain certain techniques for a living but also prevent them from committing other crimes when they leave jail. Furthermore, those gangsters were sentenced for their misbehaviour. If they can receive moral lessons, they can have a chance to rectify their understanding and behaviours. Therefore, they will have a greater opportunity to be accepted by the community. For instance, most prison managers will consider the criminals' behaviours in prison and decide whether their sentences can be shortened. This shows that correcting behaviour is vital. Although some educationalists might opine that those people have received basic education when they are young so re-education in jail is not essential, I believe such a process can be useful because those gangsters have been isolated from the community for a long time. For example, if a person was locked up 20 years before, they can even find it difficult to use smartphones or personal computers. As a result, those people who are incapable of adapting to society can cause potential problems. In conclusion, though some criminals can have taken some fundamental courses before, it is still valuable to provide them with proper ethical or technical education so that they can fit into society and make a contribution to the world.