People should only concentrate on a single skill for life because it is the best way to succeed. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people think that focusing on just one skill permanently is the best way method to achieve success. Although lifelong devotion to a unique skill is absolutely important to prosper, I firmly believe that being an expert in diverse aspects offers more certainty to being successful. First of all, promising businesses are likely to keep evolving. As technologies have been developed, skills which our society needs can be replaced with others. Therefore, we should master several abilities in order not to be left behind in rapidly changing job markets. For example, carpentry was one of the most favourable jobs in the past. However, as machines can make more sophisticated furniture than humans, carpenters cannot make ends meet. This proves that learning more than two skills can be insurance for people’s stable and successful lives. Secondly, modern society prefers individuals who are prominent in diverse various aspects. Because labour markets are quite competitive these days, there are high possibilities that we cannot land a job if we have only one skill, which means we do not make the cut it. For instance, K-pop stars are asked to be perfect at singing, acting and even entertaining to be popular even though they become singers to sing and dance. Otherwise, they are not able to get the public’s attention because there are a number of rivals around them. In conclusion, although it is evident that immersing in only one skill can be a key to success, acquiring a few abilities is imperative because we cannot expect promising jobs since labour markets are changeable.