Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every aspect. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two different views about the effect of computer games on children. While some assert that video games have a bad influence on young boys and girls, others argue that it would be beneficial for them in many ways. Both groups provide compelling reasons to justify their assertion which will be elaborated on in this essay. On the one hand, a group of people believe that playing computer games is an absolute waste of time. That is, playing computer games deters children from spending time on activities which are essential for their well-being in the future. For example, children can learn a foreign language, which will be helpful for them to find a better job when they become adults. Another reason for opposing video games is that they change teenagers' behaviour in a bad way. A good illustration of this is violent video games; children who play video games containing violent scenes tend to be aggressive at school. On the other hand, others believe that the benefits of computer games cannot be neglected. One benefit of these games is helping children nurture their problem-solving abilities. Designed strategically, most video games encourage children to use their cognitive capabilities, so they can think better and act more wisely in real-life problems. For instance, a child who plays strategic games regularly performs better in circumstances that require using the ability of negotiation. Moreover, in some cases, video games persuade children to do sports. For example, there are many children finding football interesting because previously they had become familiar with sports in a video game. Consequently, although many believe that computer games stop children from doing physical activities, ironically, it helps children to find their passion in the sports world. In conclusion, whereas a considerable proportion of society asserts that computer games have a devastating effect on children's behaviour, I believe that playing these games can be beneficial for children because by playing video games, they can be better decision-makers, and in some cases, they may find doing sport charming.