Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of the young people. why is that the cause? Should they be encouraged to utilise their free time in a better way?

These days, shopping is favored by a mass of adolescents and become a well-known hobby. With the assistance of technology, this activity is even more common than ever, it can be seen that the youth spend an enormous time just for shopping. There are many reasons for this case. First, teenagers nowadays have high shopping demands due to their wealth. It is researched that people often feel satisfied when they get new products and content about them. Furthermore, adolescents are always scared to be compared with their friends and try as hard as they can to be on the same level. For example, if there are some trending clothes purchased by a majority of students, the rest wants to have them too, consequently, they buy them. If not, those pupils can feel shame as they do not have the things their peers have. I believe that this behavior does not have any good impact on teenagers but harms them. It consumes much time and does not enhance any good virtues. Fortunately, parents could solve this problem. They should manage their children's money as well as just give them a little amount. For instance, parents should require their kids to list things that they want to purchase and the costs. In addition, instead of letting teenagers do what they want in their free time, parents could let them do other work such as travel or play games with them. To conclude, I think that parents act a crucial role in helping children get rid of this time-consumed hobby. They need to be motivated to do other more meaningful activities to make their life better rather than buying things daily.