Many young children are spending large amount of time in front of screens. What are the causes of this and what other problems does it lead to?

It is generally known that adolescents are spending prolonged hours in front of screens. This essay will discuss the negative effects of this and what other issues this problem brings. To begin with, computers, television and phones have had a determined effect on young people. Nowadays adolescents are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Furthermore, the excessive use of social media and new play games makes children to choose stay the whole afternoon in front of a screen instead of going out with their peers. For instance, in a recent quiz made in Uruguay, 80% of the young population prefer to spend time playing games rather than being with their friends. As a result, youth people not only spend the day isolated but also do not pay enough attention in school. They are not focusing while they are in class. Moreover, this is particularly concerning for teenagers who, instead of making tasks that the teacher sent, opt to stay with their phone and not fulfil the homework. A good example is an interview that a well-known tv program made with teachers from all over South America, all of them agreed about the lack of attention their students have while there are in class. In conclusion, the excessive amount of time in front of screens that children spend is due to all the new social media and games that technology has been developing in the last years, this leads to isolation and a lack of focus on their studies.