Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

At present, there are many juveniles who spend most of their day on their phones. This is because smartphones can give scion satisfaction and enjoyment with their ability to stream various shows and programs, for example, cartoons, animes and gaming services. Despite being very enjoyable and engrossing, spending a lot of time on these devices is noticeably harmful for children, since they will have less time to spend with their family. It is clear that smartphones can be addictive as they provide kids with endless entertainment, especially in the modern days when streaming services are really popular. This is because, streaming programs are designed to be more appealing to heir, with colourful banners and short videos. A study in 2019 shows that the attention span of children from 9-12 years old has dropped from 10 minutes to just around 6 minutes. This indicates that youngsters will be more likely to choose short videos than long films or books. TikTok, a short videos sharing platform, which blew up in 2021, is the clearest example. In spite of being extremely engrossing and enjoyable, I believe that this phenomenon is harmful to scion's development. More time being spent on their smartphone means they will have less time to spend with their families. And since family and relatives play an important role in shaping a child's personality, such as sympathy or kindness, heir who spend hours on their phones may grow up being ignorant and disrespectful. In addition, they can learn bad behaviours from online influences. For example, Sick a Valorant streamer, was caught using drugs in one of his streams. In conclusion, even though smartphones are engrossing and enjoyable for offspring, I personally believe that spending too much time on cell phones can have a really negative impact on children's personalities and behaviours.