why are bigger and more expensive weddings becoming prevalent? positive or negative development?

In recent years, many people spend a huge amount of money on major parties such as weddings, in order to demonstrate their wealth and upgrade their social standing. In my opinion, this development is harmful to the financial conditions of many families and leads to food waste. there are two reasons why they spend a considerable amount of money on weddings. the first factor of this tendency is that they desire to showcase their luxury that way they can attract the attention of many people, therefore, they can expand relationships, especially with people who work in politics which will bring numerous benefits for them. the second element of this trend is that young individuals are celebrated a large wedding which can help them upgrade their position in society and receive numerous admiration from many people thus they are given weight in social valuation. Consequently, there would be a rise in the number of families trying to celebrate the most luxurious wedding possible. Although there are many reasons for young individuals to celebrate a luxurious party, I hold the belief that it will have some negative aspects. Chief among these is that they borrow a huge amount of money to make a party after that they will live in a period of debt, and struggle to make up for the money spent on those luxurious events. In addition, the enormous quantity of resources such as food and flowers, would be wasted. For instance, when a restaurant hosts a wedding, it is obvious that a large number of leftovers are discarded after the event is over since they not be reused. In conclusion, even though the trend of organized costly events can help them promote their status, I believe that this can lead to a detrimental impact on people's financial conditions and other resources.