There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern-day society, there is a common conception that social drawbacks coming from the lack of housing in cities can only be tackled by the government. As far as this argument goes, I am not in favour of the idea for the following reasons. First and foremost, this phenomenon can be solved due to the contribution of citizens. It can be clearly seen that inhabitants can devote their properties to social housing plans, laying the foundation for them to be implemented. For instance, thanks to residents’ support towards the trend of dedicating private estate, it is estimated that the proportion of the homeless in my neighbourhood shrank remarkably by five per cent in the course of 10 years, starting from 2010. Another pivotal remedy is contributing to charity funds, which are launched to assist homeless people. As an example, thanks to those funds, the number of cheap shelters in my backyard is estimated to skyrocket from nearly 100 in 2010 to about 2000 in 2020, lifting a large number of people out of homelessness. In short, the assistance of dwellers is beneficial, but it is not enough to deal with the problem. Furthermore, this part of the essay depicts several therapies the government can put forward to tackle this issue. First, the investment in social housing is a noteworthy solution. Apparently, by building more social houses can people have more opportunities to acquire their homes, leading to the plunging ratio of slums and shanty towns, giving the poor chances to have better lives. Moreover, the authority can offer incentives and subsidies to real estate developers. For instance, the chairman of my city reduced taxes for entrepreneurs who could build vertical buildings as a way to tackle the lack of shelters. In a nutshell, I pen down by reconfirming that I do not support the idea claiming that the consequences of the shortage of accommodations can only be solved by the government. Nevertheless, the issue can be tackled due to the contribution of both citizens and the authority.