Describe a good law in your country. What is it about? How do you come to know about it? Explain why you think that it is a good law.

Laws are generally phrases that carry power. They can guide the behaviour of citizens and define their destinies. That said, it is difficult to define which features make this rules good or bad since in many cases their application can exceed the intended scope. In Italy for example, my native country, there is a great law that protects animals from abuse. The law was firstly introduced in the late 1990s as a response to several public demonstrations, which demanded punishment for abusive pet owners. Since its introduction the number of animals killed or mistreated decreased drastically, thanks to the preventive effect of the prospected punishments reserved for those who violated its mandate. Like all the laws it has some issues. At one point a man was sued for killing an insect that was disturbing his peace, or a cat owner had to pay for the sins of his pet since his animal ate a rat. Excluding this counter effects from the bill, it has definitely made a positive impact in society. I discovered this legislative product while I was investigating adopting a pet dog. I can still remember all the sanctions that I would have suffered in the case I had hurt the animal. This has prevented, since its introduction, many living beings from suffering, therefore is a great law. A good FIAT rule has to fulfil its purpose, limiting or annulling out-of-context applications. In certain,cases it is impossible to completely remove side effects, but when they are greatly limited, then there is a good law. To conclude I can state that laws are very important to govern our civilized societies, so governments should pursue the production of pristine ones without side effects.