Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime.other,however,argue that the circumstances of an individual crime,and the motivation for committing it,should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Disscuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is assumed that passing a fixed punishment is essential regardless of the circumstances and the motivations. Yet, others argue this point of view. I am in favour of the latter statement since different approaches to criminals can not guarantee a safe environment for citizens. On one hand some segments of societies strongly believe that punishments ought to be always the same without considering the circumstances during committing the crime and the intention which has led to it. To illustrate, one reason is that should there are some exceptions in the punishment of some particular cases, it will not be as effective as it is supposed to be in order to prevent such crime from occurring again. furthermore, if some exceptions were taken into account considering the conditions, then what would happen to justice? All victims deserve to obtain justice so under no circumstances reduction in punishment would be accepted. On the other hand, looking at the point that some specific conditions or motivations may force individuals to commit a crime, there may be a chance to make some changes in their punishment. In fact, this point of view insists on the assumption that not all criminals are the same so they should not be treated equally. One explanation for that is sometimes particular circumstances trigger individuals to commit crimes and they may not be aware of the irreparable consequences they will face. For example, due to critical economical situations more and more children in poverty have committed robbery or theft in order to make a living. Obviously, they should not be treated the same as serious criminals. From my perspective, regardless of what makes individuals violate a law, they have to accept the consequences and take the punishments. However, if the victims are convinced and willing to sacrifice their rights, there can be some exceptions. In conclusion, although it is commonly accepted that there has to be non-changeable punishment for each particular crime, some others believe that considering the same punishment is not fair regarding what triggers them. I believe crime is a crime no matter what particularly when it comes to serious crimes such as murder.