In a number of countries, some people think that it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In many countries, some people believe that it is better to invest heavily in building new railway lines that enable fast trains to run between cities. However, other people think that the resource should focus on improving current public transport. In my opinion, the authority should prioritize maintaining and improving the existing public transport first before expanding new railway lines between cities. On the one hand, there are several benefits to having new railway lines that can accommodate fast trains between cities. An additional and alternative mode of travel between cities promotes the travel industry to another level and the government can earn extra income from tourism. At the same time, improved linkages between cities can enable better trade flow. Farmers can sell their products to the other part of the country besides their own region. This wouldn’t be possible if the transportation isn’t well-developed. Despite the benefits of investing in new railway lines for connecting different regions, I still believe the authorities should give immediate attention to renovating the existing public transport. First, the resources required to maintain and improve the existing transport will be lower. Alternatively, the new public transport will consume more investment if the existing public transport is not well-maintained and is destroyed completely. Second, the public is more willing to use convenient and reliable public transport rather than their own private vehicles. Consequently, this can result in reduced air pollution and benefit the community in the long term. Finally, public transport is a key indicator of a well-developed city as residents use it regularly and frequently. Thus, the local government should prioritize innovation in this area. To conclude, the government should focus first on the existing public transport before investing in building new railway lines between cities due to its usefulness and benefits brought to the local community.