Many think that religion should be taught in schools while others think it should be avoided. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While many people believe that the act of including or incorporating religion into the school curriculum is essential, others feel that students should be taught only academic subjects at schools. In my opinion, the inclusion of religion in school subjects should be excluded. On the other hand, there are some proponents who are supporting teaching religion in schools. The main reason for this is that students can acquire good manners, behaviours and disciplines from religion. In Myanmar, for instance, some government schools set some religious classes for children to be trained for the purpose of enhancing good character. Secondly, some parents are getting busy with their businesses, and there is no time for them to teach their kids about rituals, religion and cultures. Therefore, they prefer schools that have a special class of religion. For example, some Christian schools have both academic and religious subjects for the students to be learned. In spite of the above arguments, I hold the view that the government should not allow schools to establish religious classes and courses. In the first place, there are a variety of religions in a nation, and it will conflict with students who have diverse backgrounds and religions. For example, in the USA, there are various religions and diverse societies, and the US government allow only separate schools or institutes for religions. In addition, Students should focus only on academic subjects at schools to have high marks in order to get university entrance or to succeed in their careers. In conclusion, although both arguments have their own merits, I believe that teaching and training sessions on religious affairs at schools should be avoided because they can create unnecessary conflicts between students, and riots, and students can do full concentration on academic lessons. Given this situation, it is recommended that states should enforce proper guidelines for schools and institutes to exclude religious activities and lessons.