Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students or for those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the recent years, here has been a significant increase in the univerisity fees, which has made it difficut for the less privilaged students to get good education. This essay will extend my opinion on why universities must decrease the tution fees or find other alternatives. Firstly, education is the foundation to create a developed society. There is a direct correlation that the developed countries have higheducation quality. Especially their universities can create many doctors, scientists, experts in numerous fields. Furthermore, these experts assist their countries with great research, boosting the economy, education, science, medicine, etc. Therefore, every nation needs a highly educated and productive workforce but the high fees at universities prevent the opportunities from reaching all classes of people. Besides, students are under great financial pressure, having the less sufficient learning than they are possible. As we know, there are many students who work part-time to pay their tution fees and to buy books. Secondly, the governments are trying to reduce the disparities among social classes, enabling us to escape from the period when only elite could study in universities. Therefore, reducing universities fees contributes to reaching equality for humanity. On the other hand, some people state/agree that reducing fees in universities resemble reducing the value of universities. As a result, universities, perhaps, are becoming less competitive than they used to and the quality of universities does not evolve intensively. Moreover, universities are not able to get a lot of revenue and this definitely has some adverse effect/influence on their operations in particular and economic development in general. To sum up, the merits of reducing fees in universities outweigh keeping high tuition fees. Therefore, the government should support eligiable students with scholarships and implement less interest on educational loans.