Nowadays university education is very expensive. Some people say that universities should reduce their fees, especially for the less fortunate students or those coming from rural areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in university fees, which has made it difficult for less privileged students to get a good education. This essay will extend my opinion on why higher education institutes must decrease their tuition fees or find other alternatives. Firstly, education is the foundation to create a developed society. There is a direct correlation that the developed nations have a better quality of high education. Especially their schools can create many doctors, scientists, and experts in numerous fields. Furthermore, these experts assist their countries with great research, boosting the economy, education, science, medicine, etc. Therefore, every nation needs a highly educated and productive workforce but the high fees at institutions prevent the opportunities for education from reaching all classes of people. Besides, students are under great financial pressure, having the less sufficient learning than they are possible. As we know, there are many students who work part-time to pay their tuition fees and buy books. Secondly, the governments are trying to reduce the disparities among social classes, enabling us to escape from the period when only the elite could study in universities. Therefore, reducing tuition fees contributes to reaching equality for humanity. On the other hand, some people state that reducing fees can resemble reducing the value of a university. As a result, education providers, perhaps, are becoming less competitive than they used to and the quality of universities does not evolve intensively. Moreover, universities are not able to get a lot of revenue and this definitely has some adverse effect/influence on their operations in particular and economic development in general. To sum up, the merits of reducing fees in universities outweigh keeping high tuition fees. Therefore, the government should support eligible students with scholarships and implement less interest on educational loans.