Tourism has emerged as one of the biggest industries of this decade, but its disadvantages cannot be overlooked. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people assert that even though tourism has been one of the largest sectors, its disadvantages cannot be ignored. I strongly agree with this belief for two key reasons. Firstly, it would lead to environmental damages which seriously impact local inhabitants and secondly, infrastructures would be congested which means locals cannot use them easily. The primary reason I agree is that tourists negatively affect local environments resulting in a lack of inhabitants including endangered species. For instance, travellers often visit prohibited areas where authorities aim to protect natural habitats. This causes the unfavourable situation that they would suffer or be endangered. In fact, recent research conducted by The University of Tokyo revealed that a variety of wild animals in Japan faced such dangers, as numerous tourists did not follow local regulations which focus on preserving them. Therefore, the growth of the tourist industry triggers an adverse influence on countries. Further support for my perspective is that congested public transportation resulting from tourists would lead to inconvenience for local people. These can include trains, metro systems, and buses. According to an article in the Asahi Shimbun newspaper, residents in Kyoto struggle with using buses due to the fact that travellers occupy them. This suggests that the above-mentioned situation forces them to spend additional hours to reach their destinations. Thus, tourism brings another noticeable disadvantage which governments should consider seriously. In conclusion, I firmly believe that drawbacks caused by tourism should not be ignored, since they unfavourably impact local nature and citizens. In particular, it could lead to the limitation of precious inhabits and inconvenience of people using public transportation.