in some educational systems, children are requierd to study one or more foreign languages. in others, foreign language study is not a requirement. what are the potential of foreign language study? do you think the foreign language study is an important part of eduation?

In some countries, learning one or more languages that are not their mother tounges is mandatory while in some states, this is completely optional. From my perspective, studying a foreign language not only helps students to improve themself, but also strengthens their countries' workforces. Therefore, foreign language study is an absolutely important aspect of education. It can be easily seen that studying one or more foreign languages can be very beneficial for students. Numerous studies have shown that bilinguals are superior to those who only speak one language in many criteria, especially in language intelligence. Being bilingual or even trilingual means that you have to switch from one language to another in a matter of seconds. Therefore, multilingual will have their brains and memories trained every single day for their entire life. This means that they will have a stronger mind, and will be able to remember things more accurately, and for a longer period of time. Moreover, this also leads to them becoming more resistant to brain-damaging impairments like dementia. To demonstrate, research conducted by Oxford University shows that people who were bilingual had a 25% lower chance to get dementia and Alzheimer's. In addition, countries whose workforces are mostly multilingual would have a better chance to be invested by big technology corporations such as Google or Microsoft, since it will be easier to set up a headquarter office in an English-speaking region than in a non-English speaking one, where communication can really become hinder. This will hugely improve a country's economy and GDP, which can be invested back into education or to improve the country's infrastructure. For instance, Vietnam has included English as a mandatory subject in schools since 2006. Because of this, Vietnam has now become a rising star in South East Asia, being the most invested nation in ASEAN. In conclusion, foreign language study can have many advantages for students and the community, and it is a totally significant part of a country's education system.