Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities while others disagree. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion.

The discussion regarding the environment and alternative forms of transport are has been increasing over the years. Therefore, there are individuals who think that in cities, commuting with bicycles is the best option. On the other hand, there are those who believe otherwise. Using bicycles to commute is an excellent alternative, because it is environmentally friendly. For example, in the Netherlands, one of the countries with the highest number of cycle paths and users of this means of transport, pollution rates are low and air quality rates have excellent parameters. In addition to environmental issues, transforming the bicycle into the main way of transport brings significant benefits to physical health, contributing to the improvement of cardiovascular capacity, physical endurance and, consequently, loss of excess weight. On the other hand, a disadvantage of this modality is the vulnerability to accidents, since the driver is without the protection of the structure of a car. For example, researches indicates that there has been an increase in the number of fatal accidents involving cyclists. Furthermore, there is a need to carry out structural changes in cities and this often takes a long time. For one, increasing the number of bike lanes and adding signposts to keep everyone safe. Ultimately, as there are clear upsides and setbacks, even though it requires some major structural changes for security, I believe that bike lanes are an excellent alternative and bring benefits in many ways, such as improvements to the environment, people's health and traffic, contributing to building a healthier future. Governments should invest time, planning and financial resources to improve the quality of the existing ones and increase their number.