Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Nowadays people receive a pension when they achieve the retirement age, which depends on the country. However, I believe that some professions could not be developed for a long-time worker due to their connection with physical activities or cognitive demands. There are many professions which require a strong physical condition to be hired. In addition, during their work life, workers need to maintain this physique in order to be more effective during their working hours. For example, firefighters need good complexions to face their daily work such as facing fires, helping in traffic accidents or solving gas leaks. When firefighters become older, they become less active and agile, being able to put other people at risk, and not being able to help them due to their physical condition. For this reason, in many countries professions like this one, governments have set an early retirement age. Moreover, there are other works that require good cognitive skills to be developed efficiently. It is well known that when people become older, cognitive abilities such as memory, experience a decrease, which has a negative effect on field works related to medicine or engineering. For instance, a senior doctor that has to prescribe medicines may have memory issues, taking unnecessary risks for the patient. Due to this, senior workers of specific occupations are overworking, having young workers to replace them. To conclude, I maintain that the retirement age has to be established according to the occupations that workers develop, in order to protect them and the population from experiencing negative events. If all of these workers could receive a pension at an early age, many dangers could be reduced.