The percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

In this contemporary era, there has been a rise in the percentage of obese children by 20% in the past decade due to which diseases are at the peak as well. In this essay, we will discuss the factors and the effects of this development in upcoming paragraphs. To commence, the reason for the increase in overweight adolescents is due to the availability of junk foods. To explain, fast food is easily available in every neighbourhood which seems convenient for people to go and consume it instead of cooking at home. These items have a negative effect on health due to the ingredients that are used while cooking which leads to the development of diseases such as heart attack, diabetes etc. For example, studies show that borderline diabetes is quite prevalent in the age group of 15-30 years due to their eating habits. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the causes and effects of unhealthy eating. On the other hand, this problem can be mitigated with the intervention of parents. To elaborate, parents can keep a check on the diet of their offspring and eliminate those ingredients which are harmful to their health. Furthermore, the government can increase the prices and taxes on these items which would result in reducing the consumption of junk food. To exemplify, the authorities can carry out campaigns about the harmful effects of fast food and how can people switch to healthier alternatives. Hence, the aforementioned reasons substantiate solutions that can be implemented to reduce obesity in children. To recapitulate, the factors which are responsible for obesity in teenagers are due to the readily available foods which contain artificial nutrients that are unhealthy and these items contribute to the development of various illnesses. However, these issues can be handled where parents can make a diet which is full of nutrients and the government can increase taxes on such products.