Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to genetically modified crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

With the advent of genetically modified foods, the productivity of grains has greatly improved. While bioengineered foods ease the food shortage issues in some regions, it also brings some adverse impacts on human beings, such as causing allergies to some specific groups of people. This essay aims to analyze the benefits and drawbacks of using genetically engineered crops. Admittedly, the technique of operating the crop gene will enhance the amount of food production and be more likely to solve the food crisis problems in developing countries. This is because biotechnology reshapes the inherent DNA structure of grains, granting crops the ability to grow faster. In this way, numerous types of crops will be harvested 3-4 times annually, largely promoting the food production system. Then with the amount of food savings, developing countries with large populations are less likely to suffer from hunger. Therefore, genetically modified food helps us in fighting against the global food crisis issues to some extent. Nevertheless, not everyone is able to digest bio-engineered foods fully, and excessive intake of genetically engineered food may endanger their physical conditions. For example, special groups like children, pregnant women, and seniors may find difficulties in bio-engineered products. Due to the fact that these groups of people are more vulnerable and have fragile immune systems, genetically modified food contains potential allergens. Thus there are possibilities for the three groups of people to suffer illnesses caused by artificial grains. From this aspect, people should be aware of their own physical conditions to avoid experiencing harm from eating bio-engineered crops. In conclusion, the invention of genetically engineered food is a big progress in human history, as it can alleviate problems caused by food shortages. Whereas it is also vital to recognize the potential negative effects of it, and everyone should be mindful of their own body systems to avoid not suffering the pain brought by having bio-engineered crops.