Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to gentically modified crops to increase the productions of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Population in developing countries is increasing at an alarming rate, and the public believes that to meet the consumption requirement, we should switch to genetically modified crops. The benefits of this approach are that we will have enough food for society and it will help the farmers financially. The drawbacks of developing these crops are that it will cost a lot of money on research and it may affect our environment and ecosystem in the long term. The first and foremost advantage of modified crops is that they can completely fix the problem of people dying due to starvation. To illustrate, with the rise of population in developing countries, thousands of people are dying every year as nations are struggling to provide their citizens with enough food. If we are able to increase the crop yield then this may solve this issue. Additionally, it will help the farmers to make more money as they will generate more food grains with modified crops. For example, India's farming sector accumulates to one-fourth of its economy. Therefore, this change will help the country's economy automatically. On the other hand, one of the disadvantages is that governments will have to spend a big chunk of their budget on research and development. For instance, a report published in New York Times suggests that it will require at least one billion dollars to make this idea possible which may seem impossible for many growing nations. Moreover, genetically changed crops can have many consequences on our habitat which can change the whole lifecycle of the population. Hence, this may not be a permanent solution. In conclusion, people may believe that genetically modified crops may increase the production of food grains but we will have to think about it thoroughly.