Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development .

It is commonly believed that many children spend a number of their precious time on their cell phones. This development is mainly influenced by the eagerness of playing games or watch videos on social media platforms. In my view, I still believe that this is bad behaviour, on how kids should spend their time. Children are fascinated with social media networks. For example, Facebook, WhatsApp, and Tiktok, these sites are taking a huge time on our kids every day. As technology is growing in our everyday life, it is now easier for youngsters to have smartphones of their own. A survey was taken in South Africa for upper six students in one province, about how they spend their time, it was found to be true that these gadgets are taking up most of their time, in comparison to what time they use on other activities. Although it is not a good way for children to occupy themselves with mobile phones on a daily basis, this kind of attitude has grown up sharply nowadays. If this pattern of behaviours is not controlled, less time will be left for doing other activities like cooking and cleaning. However, besides the benefits of using mobile phones, if too much time is spent on these gadgets, will result in less time for important things in life. Firstly, children are expected to perform certain tasks on a daily basis such as doing homework, assisting with household duties and even studying. If time is not evenly distributed according to needs, watching videos and listening to music on smartphones will result in less time for other things. Moreover, a balance is needed since a day has 24 hours only, to perform all the required things. In addition to that, this pattern of behaviour will lead to less time for family interactions and might result in detrimental effects on the future of kids. In conclusion, even though children enjoy consuming their time on cellphones, this way gives them less time to do other things in everyday life.