Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, while others think we can use as much water as we want. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there are some different opinions involved on the freedom to use water. While some think that it is right to use fresh water freely,others believe that water usage should be closely regulated by the government. In my opinion, the government should manage the use of fresh water. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why citizens should be able to freely use water. Firstly, the freedom to water use means that citizens will not pay water bills. This would save their budget for enhancing their living standards in both mental and physical aspects. Secondly, if governments controlled the use of fresh water, they could distribute this resource to places where they could make profits. For example, in many countries in Africa, corruption and bureaucracy are the main factors to waste fresh water. Therefore, it is not justified to force people to save this resource which they do not waste. On the other hand, I believe that the supply of fresh water should be strictly managed. The main reason is that although water is fundamental to human existence, it is also a limited natural resource. More specifically, in these days, water is becoming scarce in some countries because there is a significant increase in population. This would put more pressure on water supplies and lead to a water crisis in the future if there is no restrictive management by governments. For example, in a populated state like California, in drought season, without government regulation and measures such as importing and storing water, residents will not have enough water to live. In conclusion, it is right for residents to use water freely, because they can improve their living standards and wasting water is not always their mistake. However, I believe that the government should strictly manage this resource, which is limited.