Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Many animal species face the risk of extinction, which will reduce the diversity of creatures and thus endanger human’s living environment. There is no denying that human is the main reason that causes animal extinctions and there are many efforts that people can make to solve this problem. First of all, the population growth may contribute to animal annihilation. As the population growth, cities are expanding to rural areas to meet people’s need of living. When rural areas or wild places that have not been developed yet like forests and river bands begin to be construct, animal habitats are also destroyed, forcing the animals that lived in the environments to find either a new habitats or to extinct. Moreover, animals’ economic values are also the cause of their extinction. For example, the increasing demand and over-hunting of fish for consuming, including tuna and salmon, results to their decreasing population. On the other hand, illegal hunting for precious animal organs such as rhino horns can also be credited to the cause of animals’ destructions. These two reasons directly lead to animals’ annihilations and should be improved through actions. To solve the problem, many methods can be applied. I believe that legislation is the most effective solution. When an animal protection law is legislated, over-hunting and illegal hunting can all be prohibited with penalties applied to violators. Moreover, when the laws require city developer to consider environment protection, some natural habitats may be conserved owing to their importance for creatures. In conclusion, given that many human’s behaviors contribute to animals’ extinctions, people need to take responsibility and have actions to reduce the number of animals that are directly or indirectly killed by human activities.