Some people believe that university students should pay all the cost of studies because univerity education only benefit the students themselves not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since university students, instead of the public, mainly gain advantages from the education, it is argued that they should take a full responsibility on their studying fees. In my view, I slightly disagree with this argument. During university life, students undoubtedly make contributions to the community. First of all, students who do not receive salaries from the placement get involved in the public health service without asking any returns. For example, medical undergraduates may have to volunteer in the public hospitals which helps to alleviate the burden of the health system. Furthermore, providing education fee to university pupils ensures that the overall education level in the country is guaranteed. If they do not receive university education, they may not be able to apply the professional and specific knowledge in their future careers. Thus, the community service may be negatively affected. Despite students ' contributions to society, they, compared with the public, may mostly be benefited from university,. To begin with, students may not cherish the opportunities of studying in college if they do not have the responsibility to pay for it. For instance, those who simply aim for graduation may not put any efforts in learning and studying. As a result, they may turn out to be a ‘couch potato ’ staying at home during the day so the knowledge they learnt in previous schools has has no positive influences on society. In conclusion, although some graduates may not play a role in the public system, participation of them in contributing to the whole community should not be neglected. Thus, it is reasonable that their education fee is subsitized by university.