In some Countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Having a good place to live in entails making crucial decisions of whether renting or buying a property. In many parts of the world, buying a home is very essential than leasing for two reasons. First, it is cheaper and secondly it provides a sense of ownership. This essay will further discuss these reasons and why this is a positive situation. In some countries such as Australia, renting a house is cheaper than leasing one. Statistics indicates that paying rentals can cost about $800 per week. But paying for mortgage of $800,000 can save a fair bit of money every year. On the other hand, spending money on rentals does not build equity it only helps pay off the property owners’ mortgage. Although expensive it may be, owing a home is a better option that ends up being cheaper in a long run. Secondly, living in a home that is yours provides a sense of satisfaction of possessing a property. This also means that people are free to do whatever they wish to make it a dream house. For example, they do not have to worry about the lease contracts, bond payments and other costs associated with renting. Additionally, it provides a sense of security knowing that the apartment is yours and do not have to worry about eviction notices. Having a property gives full control and helps with having a peace of mind. One of the reasons why this situation benefits residents is that it forces them to save up money. Thinking about buying an apartment or house motivates people to get finances in order. They gain the discipline that is required to stick to a budget to be able to save the needed down payment. To illustrate, a recent study shows that property owners have better saving habits. Most of the landlords pay more than they are required on their mortgage. However, being the owner of a house allows people to shift their focus from saving for the month’s rent to saving for the future. In summary, many people around the world choose to purchase their accommodation. Not only does this provide a sense of ownership but also it is cheaper. This is a positive situation because it allows property owners save more money than they could if paying rentals.