In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent years have witnessed a debate about whether it will bring positive effects or not if many corporates own customers' personal data. While this trend has some benefits for both individuals and organizations, I personally believe that its drawbacks are far more significant. On the one hand, personal information enables companies to penetrate new customer segments. For example, if a brand is planning to launch a new product, this kind of data will be useful in communication and marketing campaigns. In addition, this is also an effective way for consumers to keep updated with the latest trend in consumption and obtain sufficient information before making any purchase decision. To illustrate, Apple fans usually follow emails from this manufacturer to be well-informed about upcoming Apple items. On the other hand, I hold the belief that submitting such sensitive kind of data has far-reaching consequences. To begin with, data leaking is now the subject of increasing concern. This results from the illegal activities that some businesses sell their customers' private information to third parties. Many banks and financial institutions, therefore, are confronted with online fraudsters, who use others' personal data to apply for a loan or the like. Furthermore, a rising number of companies nowadays tend to annoy their customers by spamming emails or phone calls. Hence, many people have recently had a tendency to refuse to provide accurate information when being asked. To conclude, despite its advantages, providing personal data to companies poses a great threat to society. Thus, there is a need to plough ahead with measures to ensure data privacy.