Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

In the past, it was common for workers to stay at one company throughout their careers whereas nowadays it is more common for employees to switch between different employers. I believe it is important to experience different working environments early on in a career before choosing to stay within an organisation that offers security and opportunities. There are a number of reasons why someone might choose to work at just one organisation for all their working years. Firstly, they are within their comfort zone and do not welcome unnecessary change. These workers may feel secure knowing the way their organisation operates and being familiar with its culture and protocols. Of course, they may switch positions or locations within the company, but the familiarity remains. This leads to the next advantage, which is that some workplaces, such as multi-national companies and the civil service, offer their staff a clear career path. These places often like to promote from within, so those staff members who possess the necessary skills and experience are able to progress in their career much more smoothly than those who keep moving companies. Nevertheless, there are arguments in favour of working at different workplaces. The first one is that doing this offers diversity. Many people, especially younger ones, want experience in a variety of industries in order to help them decide which one would be most suitable for them. Secondly, employees often switch employers because they can earn more money for doing a similar job. For example, I have doubled my salary in just seven years by moving to different companies, but still doing the same job. If I had stayed at my first company, I would only have received a small pay rise each year. Overall, I think people should work in a few different industries and organisations before settling down into a company that can offer them a career path and familiarity.