Nowadays, people are less likely to trust news agencies. Why is this happening? What qualities are necessary to become a good journalist?

It is obvious that public is losing its trust in media these days. There are several reasons why people do not trust news much, and there are certain traits that a great journalist should possess. Trust of public in media agencies is falling at alarmingly high rate in recent years for the following reasons. One of the major reasons is that the increased number of news sources make it harder than ever to be well-informed for average people. With tremendous advancement in information technology, digitally oriented people are heavily exposed to information, both factual and fictional kinds, daily; thus, they have less confidence in media due to the rise of false news and alternative facts. Another reason is that fierce competition for audience’s attention has led to increased interpretative bias on facts, creating sensationalism by reporters. As a result, it instills the ideas in many people that news reports are lack of credibility, and that most are fabricated based on opinions or emotions or political affiliation. A journalist requires many fine qualities to become competent in journalism. In the first place, one who inspires to become a good journalist should have strong communication skills. Along with high proficiency in English language, a competent journalist must know what intriguing questions to ask the source which, in turn, would enable him to write an indepth in depth stories and reports. Likewise, a good communication skill can help convey information to readers in an appealing manner. Secondly, to become a great journalist, one must possess ethics and integrity. Even though stories and news sources are solid, audience will only trust the reports of journalist who has excellent reputation. Hence, it is critical for journalist to report truth and only truth so that he can maintain trust of general public in him. In conclusion, people are losing their trust in news outlets due to the rise of employing unverified sources in their stories, and, because they stir controversial issues on purpose. Nevertheless, trust can be restored among people if journalists possess critical qualities such as strong communication skills and solid ethical core