Nowadays some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the explosive advancement of technology, nowadays people can find information on the Internet without any struggle, therefore, many people believe that public museums and art galleries are no longer required in this era. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this statement, and the following essay is going to strengthen my point. To begin with, observing online pictures of relics and paintings through the Internet could not bring the same atmosphere as going to museums or exhibitions. This is due to the fact that when visiting these locations, people can have an immersive experience of being surrounded by exquisite paintings and sculptures, as well as seeing the remnants of the past in a close distance, helping them to have a deeper insight into the living conditions of their ancestors. Taking Hoa Lo Prison Relic as an example, which has been redesigned into a place where the young can visit to learn about the hardship that their forefathers had to endure to bring peace and prosperity to their homeland. Furthermore, occasionally the details found on the Internet about a historic event or piece of art can sometimes be inaccurate. To put it in a simple way, on several occasions, the name of the artist could be placed under the wrong painting, or sometimes a photo of an event could stray to the description of another crucial one, thus creating misunderstanding which would put learners at a disadvantage in the long run. For example, a picture of a soldier could be put on display, however, the description of him and his gear could be false, either about the name or the time period in which it was employed, as the writer did not research thoroughly. Hence, visiting museums and exhibitions can provide history learners with verified information through reliable sources. In conclusion, due to the benefits that museums and art galleries offer, which are the opportunities to learn about the past and provide reliable knowledge about history, I believe they will not face the risk of disappearance in the future.