Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. as many as two thirds of children are now obese. schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. to what extent do you agree with thhis statement?

Good health is imperative for individuals regardless of age. While there is an upsurge in obesity in young people, the issue is widely considered as one of the most serious concerns among health experts. There is a school of thought which says that educational institutes should be responsible for the diet of their students. However, I do not agree with the fact, in my,opinion it is the sole responsibility of parents. To commence with, the rapid growth of this issue usually coincides with technological advancement. Since the industrial revolution, there is a trend in modern society for fast food, due to its easy access and urge of its taste, young people are often attracted to it. For instance, kids prefer to have pocket money for lunch instead of taking lunch boxes from home. Furthermore, the limited physical activities of students are due to the advent of technological devices like Mobile phones or computer games. Moreover, kids tend to spend only a limited amount of time in school, and even if school imposes a diet pattern on students still they could get fast food out of the school premises. It is parents who should strictly monitor the timetable of children, this should include the diet they take, and the amount of exercise they do. It is vital to have checks and balances on kids starting from this age to avoid any fatal disease in the later stage of life. For example, a good timetable should include a healthy diet and outdoor activities. To conclude, parents should educate and push their kids towards more sports activities and also make them aware of the drawbacks of eating unhealthy food.