Some pepople think that the increaing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree or dissagree?

Over the past few decades, information technology has gradually developed, and people tend to use computers and mobile phones a lot for communication. Some assert that the excessive use of technology can have an adverse impact on youngsters' reading and writing skills. I partly agree with the assertion. First of all, it is apparent that using electronic devices for communication has some positive impact on children's reading and writing skills. When young people use smartphones to connect with their friends or family, they can read a wide range of content faster and they naturally get plenty of opportunities to process information. Moreover, on the Internet they should write often to communicate with each other. Email, comments and blogs can be a good example of this type of interaction. However, we should not dismiss the disadvantages it can bring about. Although increased the use of information technology has allowed the public to access a variety of content all around the world, young people have to deal with much information that is created everywhere in a critical way. It is common that more adolescents tend not to have good critical thinking since they have to get various information consistently. In addition, they are more likely to be distracted easily, as there are many functions in the electronic gadget. Plus, some convenient functions of the devices make them independent. They may not know proper spelling or punctuation without an auto-correction system. In conclusion, the development of information technology has enabled youngsters to read and write about a lot of topics more easily and confidently, but some lack critical thinking or do not know accurately using ways. Giving all, schools or parents close guidelines about the efficient use of such media is strongly required.