One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congesstion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic congestion has become a major problem for each metropolitan city nowadays. In this essay, I intend to discuss apparent reasons for this problem and some initiatives that could be taken by the public and authorities to tackle it. The issue of traffic jams in big cities is due to several reasons. One prime reason is overcrowding, that is folks have started shifting to cities from suburban areas and hence the streets, roads and highways are always full of vehicles as everyone owns a vehicle in urban areas. Secondly, the roads are not enough or are not big enough to cater huge population and every city is interconnected. Thus whenever a person travels to a different city they pass through the big cities which in result becomes the reason for jams. For instance, Faridkot is a city in Punjab and the main road has only 2 lanes which are supposed to be 5 or 6 to control the traffic. To be stuck in vehicles has become very common and this problem can be addressed in different ways. First of all, the government should improve public transportation; it should be affordable, comfortable, fast and safe. With this, people will start opting for mass transit to travel as a result, the number of cars running on roads could be reduced. Moreover, the government could implement a rule to drive cars of a certain number on particular days. For example, the Delhi ministry began a guideline in which cars ending in even numbers can be driven from Monday to Thursday only, while car numbers ending in odd digits in the rest of the week. As a consequence, pollution and blockage of roads because of vehicles are eradicated to a great extent as per a study. In conclusion, I believe that traffic congestion occurs because of myriad reasons and can be solved if the public and government follow some rules.