Some people think that schools should not test and grade students. Others think that grades are important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Grading and categorizing students based on tests the traditional way is supported by many, especially parents and many education facilities, whilst others might disagree. As a student myself and getting first hand experience, grading traditionally is limited and might actually restrict the student’s natural talent or skill. Grades are an important aspect for being a marker for a student to judge themselves with a standardized letter grade A,B,C,D,E and F indicating a student’s stance in the standardized academic performance. But the original way of testing is not subjective nor adequate enough even though it is globally recognized. For social science like English,an assessment’s grade can fluctuate due to biases and it doesn't actually reflect the student’s comprehension of the subject. Changing the standard way of testing by doing extracurricular activities or group projects can give the student’s more opportunities to grow and succeed in personal goals. Exploring their limits and skills, giving them a head start in the future in finding a suitable job. Changing the types of exams, tests taken can actually peak the student’s interest in learning. Overall, though grading traditionally can be more effective it cannot be able to show the skills of a pupil because of a straightforward system. So preferably for more inclusiveness and to improve the compatibility of learning with students we should change the mediums to test for the student’s abilities.