Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that constructing many sports facilities can improve public fitness, but in my,opinion this will not help unless we improve awareness about the importance of sports and their positive impact on general health. There is no doubt that the awareness about how to stay healthy should start early, for example; in Japan, all students are instructed to start their day with aerobic exercise for 10 minutes. In South Korea, there is a sport department in every school, responsible for arranging sports activities for students and monitoring students with special talents to guide them to be future champions. I do believe that in order to develop a healthy society we need to educate citizens about the importance of an active lifestyle and making exercise part of their daily routine. Therefore I don’t think spending money on big sports facilities have anything to do with that, these stadiums are built for commercial purposes and to have a membership is very costly. A healthy society needs a simple playground to play football or basketball, it needs areas for cycling or walking, such amenities are essential for every healthy community, in addition, to the spread of awareness in school and social clubs. In conclusion, building stadiums and other sports activities alone will not help to improve public health, early education about the importance of daily or weekly exercise is the first step to a healthy society. There are many recommendations from the World Health Organisation to governments that they should tackle this issue and consider adding sport amenities in every residential community.