A gratuity, or tip, is an amount of money given to a waiter or server in a restaurant in addition to the cost of the bill. In some countries, tipping is customary. In other countries, it is not. What is your opinion of the custom of tipping? What are the positives and negatives? If you are in a foreign country where tipping is customary, do you believe you should tip, even if it is not customary in your home country?

The discussion of tipping is surely the one that begs the question of that should it be compulsory to tip. Apparently, some countries have made it customary to pay the servers before leaving the restaurants. However, in my opinion, tipping should be optional instead of being mandatory. There could be many reasons why few countries opt to have mandatory tipping in restaurants. The main reason, in my opinion, could be to acknowledge the hard work of the servers. Evidently, people are known to disrespect the servers thinking of them as not so successful in life and thereby, doing this job. This is the best example of what kind of negativity is faced constantly by the people who decide to serve in restaurants. Another reason could be to assure a guaranteed income for the servers apart from their regular salary. Furthermore, these positives can be argued with the fact that not everyone supports tipping at the end of the meal if they are not happy with services or food quality. If there is a gap in overall services at the restaurants, people do not tend to sometimes pay for the food, let alone tipping for example, when the food is bad. This definitely adds to the bad rapport of the restaurant. Personally, I too believe, forcing people to tip will only result in decreasing count of customers. I would also not be happy to mandatorily pay a tip when dining in a different country. To conclude, tipping can be considered an encouraging act to respect the servers in restaurants. However, making it mandatory will only result in unhappy customers and negativity for some. In my opinion, this should be kept as a choice for the customers. The happy they will be, the more inclined they will be to tip generously.