A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is no doubt that social media and celebrity culture have changed our way of living massively. Many of us fall into the trap of judging others based on their level of wealth and rank within society. However, I still feel that traditional values are incredibly important to us as individuals and the community at large. In this essay, I will attempt to elaborate more on this perspective. Firstly whenever we attempt to build a relationship with someone, whether socially or professionally, we always tend to assess a person's character first and foremost. The saying goes, first impressions are everything. For example in my own life, this was a critical element in choosing to marry my wife. Qualities such as kindness, trust and empathy, were all incredibly important traits for me. I feel like this is something a lot of people can relate to. These same qualities are also fundamental parts of how we aim to raise our children. From a very young age, kids are taught to treat others well, to share, and to help those in need. Again, to illustrate this, I've also witnessed this in my own life, with my brother-in-law. He is 9 years old, and I've seen with my own eyes how much emphasis is put on character development within his upbringing, and with those around him at school. We can also see how important our character is even after we die. People tend to remember more about how you treat them, than about any of your specific life accomplishments. For instance, with the celebrity boxer Mohammed Ali, It was his attitude and selflessness that are remembered above everything else. How he gave up his own comforts to stand up for what he believed in. Is this not a trait that most of us aspire to have? In conclusion, yes we have overall become more concerned with material gain and social status, but it's who we are as a person that still matters the most.